Rotary Club of Belfast

Paul Harris Fellowships

PHF pins HThe Paul Harris Fellowship is Rotary's highest honour for individual Rotarians - a Recognition Award by The Rotary Foundation bearing the name of Rotary's founder. This prestigious award is bestowed by the Club in recognition of an outstanding commitment to the Club or the community. The Club also awards Fellowships to non members who have given exceptional service to the Community. The original bronze PHF pins have been replaced by larger gold pins.

Fellowships awarded to Club Members
Hon. Member
1980        Tom McConnell   1943 1982
1990   Gordon Millington Presented by District for Polio Plus 1968  
      Sapphire Award also presented 2011    
      Ruby Award presented 2017    
    Harry Corscadden Sapphire Award also presented 2007 1998 1959
1992   Tom Crocker   1956  
    David Dorman   1935 1993
    Willie MacNab   1959  
    Fred Rogan   1952  
    Cecil Rundle   1942 2000
1994   Brian Clements Sapphire Award presented 2015  1990  
    Hugh Fergusson   1989  
1997   Bob Johnson   1945  
    Bryan Johnston Sapphire Award also presented 2011 1977  
    Stanley Rainey   1957 2005
1998   Brian Byers Sapphire Award also presented by Highland Park Rotary Club 2009 1979  
    Roy MacDougall   1974  
2002   Dick Thornton   1991  
    Alan White  Ruby Award also presented 2018 1958  
2003   David Boyd Sapphire Award also presented by Highland Park Rotary Club 2009   1981  
      Ruby Award also presented 2012    
    Hilary Gault   1992  
2005   Bill Donaldson   1960 2006
    John McCleery   1966  
2006   David Brernnan   1969  
    Barrie Houston   1996  
    Adrian Kerr      
2007   Marnette Lyons Sapphire Award also presented 2009 1995  
      Ruby Award also presented 2012    
2008   Albert Baird   1975  
    Trevor Hinds   1988  
2009   Brian Ferguson   1989  
2010   Derek Baxter   1988  
    Billy McCoubrey   1993  
2011   Maurice Brooks   2002  
    Edwin Coppel   1988  
    Eileen Kennedy   1997  
    John Williamson   1980  
2012   Alistair Corscadden   1996  
    Trevor Dickey   1996  
    John Lowry   1988  
    Campbell Morton   1981  
    Craig McClelland   1974  
    Victor McKirgan   1983  
2013   Arthur Boyd   2005  
    Courtenay Thompson   1977  
2014   Dame Mary Peters DBE  Sapphire Award 2011 2011
    Mark Davidson   1999  
    Eric Rainey   2000  
2015   Brian Clements   1980  
    Alan Rundle   1984  
    Fred Sweeney   1975  
 2017   Joe Hyland    2010  
    CT Hogg    1973  
    Gordon Millington   1968  
    Robert Skelly    1987  
    San Wong    2014  
2018   Alan White   1958  
    Teddy Elliott   1988  
    Ronnie McLean   2008  
    Ivan McMinn 2 Sapphire Award presented by 6 Rotary Clubs 2009  
Fellowships awarded to Non Members who have given exceptional service to the Community
1997        Frank Carson        Polio Plus
1990   Helen Honeyman   Harmony Community Trust 
    Pat Smyrl    Boys' Camp
1997    Denise O'Neill   Boys' Camp 
2005   HRH The Princess Royal   A Sapphire Award - in Rotary Centenary Year
2014   June Trimble MBE   Youth Action
    Councillor Mairtin O'Muilleoir   Former Lord Mayor of Belfast - Community Service
    Baroness May Blood MBE   Community Service
 2015   Maurice Kinkead    East Belfast Partnership - Community Service
    David Boyd    City Beat - Community Service
2017   Rev. Dr. Harold Good   Conflict Resolution

Join Us

Membership of the Club is an incredibly rewarding and enjoyable experience and we are actively looking for new people to invite to join and breathe new vibrancy and ideas into the Club and take Rotary into its second century in Belfast.

If you think Rotary may be for you, or for further information, please contact us.

Getting involved with Rotary could be the most important thing you ever do.

Contact the Club

If you would like to contact the Club,

please click here to use our Contact Form